peacepaster.blogg.se

New hard drive for imac 2011
New hard drive for imac 2011






It was getting hot to the touch and I blew the top slit with compressed air, also in the back.

new hard drive for imac 2011

Is there a way I can make them come on HIGH. Randy, I want my fans to come on at full speed to blow the dust out. Just follow the OWC video and you’ll do well. At some point I’m going to add 4 more GB of memory and I figure I’ll be able to use this machine for a few more years. No fan noise and the new SSD was much more responsive.

new hard drive for imac 2011

Finally I updated to macOS High Sierra (can’t go any higher on the mid-2011), and the machine ran like a clock. I bent the Display Port Cable initially and had to order another one from ebay.

  • Display Port Cable (not too difficult to disconnect but quite difficult to reattach).
  • Now you have the four cables to disconnect: So, off comes the glass (you really don’t need suction cups), and after eight screws out comes the screen.

    #New hard drive for imac 2011 upgrade#

    I did not want to pay the $39.00 but I wanted to do the upgrade the right way and I knew that a hardware solution to the fan problem was the right way to go. I did not want to control the fans via a software solution so I “bit the bullet” and bought the $39.00 OWC In-Line Digital Thermal Sensor Cable. I also had to be constantly adjusting the smcFanControl settings.Ībout two months ago I decided to go with an SSD drive and I chose the Crucial MX500 SSD. I choose smcFanControl and I was fairly satisfied but I did notice that the back of the iMac still got very hot to the touch. I certainly didn’t want to open the thing back up so I went with a software solution. It therefore ran the fan speed at 100% all the time.

    new hard drive for imac 2011

    My new drive had no temperature sensor on it, so my iMac motherboard didn’t know what the HD temperature was. The Hard Drive that Apple uses from the factory has a proprietary controller on it for reporting the drive temperatures to the motherboard. When I booted up the new install, the iMac fans went crazy. A few years ago I installed a new 1TB Hard Drive (spinning SATA).






    New hard drive for imac 2011